East Croydon

Lewys Gammond-Phillips
1 min readAug 18, 2023

--

Stared at these for a while.

Here I am again, stood alone on
Platform 1 of East Croydon station.

Stood in the exact same spot, after the
Best weekend ever. My heart was full!

It was beating oh so full. Now,
Life is bleeding dull.

You broke the news to me, after the
Best weekend ever. I was scared of love.

But I had just decided to, love you forever
And forever more.

Now I’m here again, after a long time away
On Platform 1 of East Croydon station.

Do I want the old or new feeling now?
Knowing what the feeling may become tomorrow.

Still, I will risk it all, searching for more
Best weekends ever.

Got home from some travels recently and stopped at this train station again. Gave some food for thought. Wrote the first draft of this on my run yesterday and then cleaned it up quickly to share.

Another unedited first draft. Not totally accurate of events either. Would like to spend more time improving these, making them rhyme, but doesn’t matter for now. Almost finished editing my first ever book.

Am in search for more best weekends ever though. Always.

--

--

Lewys Gammond-Phillips

Politics and poetry, mostly. Also some economics, interesting ideas, and social issues.